Hemalurgy and Bonds and Gods and Stuff..

Henri_FB

Question

Okay so, im kind of new to the whole cosmere thing, but since i found out about it one thing has been bugging me.
So, we know that Hemalurgy can be used to transfer a Nehel Bond, which made me think, the Heralds have a bond which basically grants them immortality, could you transfer the bond itself using Hemalurgy? and grant immortality to someone else?

I am assuming you would use Duralumin to transfer the Bond, so.. could you use Hemalurgy on a God? Could you pass Rayse's Bond which impedes him from leaving Roshar and in doing so set Rayse free?

4 answers to this question

So both of those cases are sort of weird.  the Heralds aren't precisely immortal.  they are cognitive shadows - basically ghosts - though they are able to take on physical form, which is a bit unique from what little we've seen of cognitive shadows.  nonetheless, while it may be possible to steal whatever binds them to the oathpact, it isn't really clear what would happen if you tried to give that to a living person.  As to Rayse, he probably doesn't really have a physical body for hemalurgy to act on any more, and I'd also guess that the bond that binds him to the roshar system is probably orders of magnitude larger than the bonds on any individual - he is a shard after all his powers are practically infinite compared to regular mortals - so even if you could find a body to practice hemalurgy on, you may not be able to prctically craft a spike big enough to affect it.

Welcome to the Shard!