Newbie here!

|TJ|

Heyya folks! I was introduced to Brandon Sanderson while reading the Wheel of Time series though it wasn't until recently that I dived into his own works. I just finished the majority of cosmere (except a few novellas here and there). I started with Elantris and have just finished reading Oathbringer.

So this post is basically a rant about how Oathbringer ending was unsatisfactory.  I mean, how can one write such powerful and brilliant story arc for Dalinar and just gloss over the whole Shallan/Kaladin/Adolin thing in the same book? On one hand we have a powerful piece on a redeemed man, and the other part is just..rushed?

One need not look any further than the chasm scene when Shallan uses Shardblade to help Kaladin without any qualms or hesitancy, or without resorting to her Radiant persona. Isn't this a true indication that her personalities merge into true Shallan when she's with Kaladin? This is further supported by her scholarly discussions with him (the flying chasmfiend theory, for instance) without having doubts whether scholarly pursuit is indeed Shallan's aim or Radiant's. Therein lies the problem since she merges into true Shallan around him, Kaladin can't see her fragmented parts and hence cannot understand her problem.

So... the ending? Intentionally bad or just rushed through to end the triangle headache?

Anyways, I'm not here to start another Shalladin/Shadolin debate. Storm knows there's a ton of those here. It was just nagging me, and I found this outlet.  I'm just here to say hi. So...hey!

Edited by Floga Fero

1 hour ago, R J said:

Welcome to the Shard!

Honestly, Shallan and Kaladin aren't good for each other. It's better this way.

Well.. different folks, different strokes.

But I refuse to accept the beautiful chasm scene amounted to nothing in the end, despite Sanderson's best attempts to complete squash all my hopes xD

Edited by Floga Fero
typo

2 minutes ago, Emi said: