Rosharan Linguistics

Renarin Kholin

I recently came across this WoB, and as I am currently studying linguistics, I decided to see what insights into the history of Roshar could be gained by analyzing the language families present.

IneptProfessional

Since you mention languages on Roshar, are there any languages that are completely unrelated to any other on the planet?

Brandon Sanderson

Our basic language families are:

Vorin: Alethi, Veden, Herdazian, and more distantly Thaylen. Natan is close to dead, but shares a root, and Karbranthian is basically a dialect. Other minor languages like Bav are in here.

Makabaki: Azish is king here, and most of the languages around split off this. There are around thirty of these.

Dawnate: A varied language family with distant roots in the dawnchant. Shin, parshendi, Horneater. They share grammar, but they diverged long enough ago that the vocabulary is very different.

Iri: Iriali, Reshi, Purelake dialects, Riran, and some surrounding languages.

Aimian: These two are lumped together, but are very different. Probably what you were looking for.

That isn't counting spren languages, of course. I might have missed something. Typing on my phone without my wiki handy.

First off, I would love to see Brandon's wiki someday, though it doesn't seem likely at least until he finishes writing everything he has planned for the Cosmere.

Comparing the modern Roshar map and the Silver Kingdoms Epoch map, we can see that the following silver kingdoms adopted which languages: 

• Vorin: Rishir, Valhav, Alethela, Natanatan, Thalath 
  • Makabaki: Makabakam 
  • Iri: Iri, Sela Tales 
  • Aimian: Aimia 
  • Dawnate: Shin Kak Nish, Valhav (Horneater Peaks)