Hoid in HoA

Eternal Khol

So in HoA Vin is supposed to go see hoid about something but as she's walking up she gets a sense that something is wrong so she turns around and leaves without a word.

This scene mirrors the one is Secret History when Kelsier finds Hoid and touches him and gets jolt through his "body"

I just realized that the reason Vin turned around was because Kelsier got through to Vin's mind/subconscious and told her not to talk to him

I love how much foresight Brandon has when it comes to things like this.

This WoB is relevant:

Brandon Sanderson

No, that was something I wanted to do from the beginning. I was inspired by Isaac Asimov combining his Robots books and his Foundation books, and he did it late in his career. It kind of felt a bit hacked together a bit, but it blew my mind when he did it and, as a writer, I always thought, what if somebody did this from the get-go.

The actual origins of the kind of worldhoppers for me was reading books as a teenager and inserting Hoid into them. I really did this.... Do you read books and you like change what is happening in the book, or maybe it's just a me thing? I would have my character interacting with the characters in the books, in my head, as I played the movie of that book in my head, while I was reading it, and there was this character hopping between worlds, with this knowing smirk on his face.