191224 - lizbusby - Winter Fog

lizbusby

Another newbie here, and a new fiction writer too. This is a random Christmas ghost story that popped into my head a few weeks ago, inspired by something my daughter said and some Victorian ghost stories. (Apparently, telling ghost stories at Christmas used to be a thing, and not just something Dickens made up.) Mainly looking for a few things:

1. Is it interesting to anyone beside me?
2. Did you guess what was going to happen too soon/too late? Is it too obvious or too non-obvious?
3. General thoughts on character and description - do they fit the scope of the story?
4. Anything else you notice

*5. Forgot to mention I could also use title ideas, as this title is more of a place holder. *

Thanks in advance,
Happy Christmas,
Liz Busby
Edited by lizbusby

--Yep! It's interesting. The creepy atmosphere draws you in quickly and prepares the tone for the story.

2. Did you guess what was going to happen too soon/too late? Is it too obvious or too non-obvious?
--I got that it was connected with the grandmother somehow, but I was not expecting what actually happened. I was expecting the grandmother to say goodbye through the kid, but what happened was much creepier.

3. General thoughts on character and description - do they fit the scope of the story?
--I think the tone was very consistent throughout. The mother and daughter are sort of separated from everything else by fog. The boys are reduced to a single unit of fighting kids, which works because it doesn't distract from the story. Focusing on simple actions and movements by the mother keeps the reader in the story very well.

--I enjoyed it! Definitely made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up when it ended.

5. Title Ideas

--I think this one works. "Winter Bird" would also work for me.

Looking forward to reading more of your stuff!

Notes while reading:
pg 1: "Fog" twice in the first paragraph. I'd use a different word.