Bigmikey357

Deus Ex Machina

21 posts in this topic

So I'm just beginning my reread of SA. I'm not all that far into it but what I have read reminded me of a conversation held between Kaladin and Syl. He seemed to think he was cursed by surviving when everyone he tries to protect dies. Syl responds by saying maybe he survives because he's being saved for a purpose.  It made me think about all the times our main cast has been in danger or faced impossible odds only to come out the other side no worse for wear at best, battered but functional at worse. 

Deus ex machina literally translates to God in the machine and as we know is often used to describe hand-wavy solutions to narrative problems.  Our MC's survival doesn't feel like that. It's more like deities taking a part in the proceedings more directly,  kinda like how Harmony guides Wax in Mistborn Era 2. Putting this in the perspective of SA is problematic however.  Honor is dead, and although he left behind some influences the power is largely undirected.  Cultivation is thought to have withdrawn from men and their problems and though events with Dalinar, King T and Lift make that claim look suspect I don't think she's meddling as much as she has a right to. Mostly I think she's keeping some cards in case Odium makes a push but is mostly hands off. And I truly don't think Odium is saving people up that will oppose him later (Dalinar was a miscalculation he's not likely to repeat). So my question is at its root, pretty simple.  Who is running the fate and destiny machine on Roshar?

39 minutes ago, Bigmikey357 said:

Who is running the fate and destiny machine on Roshar?

The characters themselves.

(But technically Brandon)

2 hours ago, Bigmikey357 said:

Who is running the fate and destiny machine on Roshar?