Reading Excuses - 11/25/19 - aeromancer - Stranger in a Foreign Land Pt.2 (V,G) - 5012

aeromancer

This was meant to be a two-part submission, but the length got away from me. Not in the 'two thousand extra words so I can't cram it into one submission' sense, in the 'five thousand this week and possibly six thousand next week' sense. I'm still not quite sure how I managed that, I didn't think I was *that* bad at guessing story length. 'Stranger in a Foreign Land' is a low fantasy setting.  I had a curious idea for a setting and protagonist, and this is my first attempt at it, recycling an old world to do it in. Another reminder in case you forgot - this world is set nocturnally. Include in that is nocturnal vision. Feedback I'm looking for is how the story progressed. There were also quite a few details embedded, so I'm also looking for feedback in regards to the worldbuilding here. Hopefully to be concluded in Part III.

A note on Black Bane: The plant is known as (Black) Henbane, also known as Stinking Nightshade (yellow flower, back center), the official name is hyoscymaus niger. It's one of the less deadly members of the Nightshade family, but quite hallucinogenic. Historians believe this is the more likely hallucinogen consumed by Viking berserkers, rather than the traditionally accepted Fly Agaric (red cap with white spots) as the accounts are slightly better for the symptoms caused by Black Henbane.

Overall:

- I like the story's atmosphere and it's interesting.

- Add more showing, reduce dialog.

- Edit and tighten the writing, eliminate extra words and make it snappier

Page 2: how is Z going to identify himself as a Seeker by talking to the alchemist? Is it part of the magic or is it obvious in their mannerisms?

P.3: Firevein - cool word!