Ookla the Partitioner

Reading Excuses - 11/11/19 - aeromancer - Stranger in a Foreign Land Pt.1 - 5106

17 posts in this topic

Hey all, it's been a while since I last submitted. This is part 1 of a two part short story, and I'll try to submit the next section as soon as possible, as there are a few unanswered questions that the second part should deal with. This is 'Stranger in a Foreign Land', set in a low fantasy setting. I had a curious idea for a setting and protagonist, and this is my first attempt at it, recycling an old world to do it in. Quick heads up - everyone's nocturnal. Oh, and I forgot to mention early, but this story very much subscribes to Sir Winston Churchill's theory of making points.

The feedback I'm looking for is how you felt the story developed and whether you were interested in the characters. Aside from that, everything is fair game, all critiques accepted. If something's unclear, just ask. Thanks!
Edited by aeromancer

I eagerly await the story!!!!

Interesting story, though it reads more like the intro to an RPG than a book. I liked Tempter a lot, as he gave the story some nice levity. Got confused over all the role names and why they mattered if this is already half the story, especially why there needed to be three types of werewolf.
Overall, there's a lot of telling and not much showing, which makes the dialogue stilted. It seems like part of a larger world, though, so good job on that. This half was mostly explanation of worldbuilding, thought, so I'm wondering how much content is in the second half.

Character-wise, S is kind of one-dimensional, but Z is interesting and I like Tempter.

11 hours ago, aeromancer said:

this story very much subscribes to Sir Winston Churchill's theory of making points

Not sure what this means. I'm not familiar with it. Did a quick search on it and didn't come up with anything either.

Notes while reading:
pg 1: "Ea’s sliver could scarcely make it through the branches"