Chouta Recipe for Koloss Head Munching Day

Keeper Exile

In celebration of the soon coming Koloss Head Munching day on December 19 (I am pretty sure that's correct), I have decided that I am going to attempt to produce perhaps the weirdest dish I have ever seen in a book: chouta!

The flatbread used in chouta is very thick. The meat often used in the warcamps is flangria, which is mixed with ground lavis, formed into small balls, battered and fried. The meatballs are then stuffed into the fried bread and covered with a generous amount of dark gravy. The chouta stands in Dalinar's warcamp also sell a variety that is stuffed with fried cremling claws instead of meatballs, and there may be other variations. Chouta is flavorful, but not spicy.

Assuming that I don't want any cremling claws in my chouta, this seems to be fairly straightforward (I will ignore the fact that I am a horrid cook). I am planning on using either shredded chicken or ground beef for the meat, and then either beans or some other grain for the lavis. I was also thinking about getting a thick tortilla (or some other thick bread that I can fry in oil and then wrap around a bunch of meat and possibly beans). And finally, what I think is the hardest part, the gravy. For this, I was thinking about normal brown gravy, but I don't think that will fulfill the "flavorful, but not spicy" category.

Please give your suggestions and opinions on the ingredients (especially the gravy and bread), methods of preparation, or really anything else. I am excited to see what comes from this, though it will probably end up like a lump of oily meat, beans, gravy, and tortilla.

Chouta Coppermind page: https://coppermind.net/wiki/Chouta

Edited by Keeper Exile