Junk Junction Sub 6 (chapter 10) (4107 words) (V) Sept. 2 2019

shatteredsmooth

Content Warning: There is kid versus possessed mannequin fighting, so I put "V" for violence. 

Hi All,

So  my biggest concern about this one is the fight with the mannequins. I like writing fight scenes, but I am not good at writing fight scenes people can actually follow. 

Otherwise, any other feedback is welcome. As usual, don't worry about grammar and typos. I'll save that for when the content is solid. 

Thanks!

A couple side notes:
 I realize a few items from the vampire hunting kit (the one E took in Ch. 1) are used, though I realize said kit hasn't been mentioned since then. Their use probably seems to come out of nowhere in this chapter, so when I make up my mind, I will either go back and remove it completely or set it up better. 

One thing I may also need to clarify at some point is that the mannequins themselves are just mannequins. It's the ghosts possessing and controlling them that have power to make them move and to turn people into things. 

Last time:
Ch. 1-2: E's mom gets turned into a mannequin in an antique shop. A haunted doll helps E's and the shop dog escape the same fate. 
Ch. 3-4: E gathers supplies from Junk Junction and does research in a library. Then they venture out to find food and a psychic. They meet D, a 13-year-old psychic whose mom is missing. They think D's mom's disappears is related to E's mom and Mx.R getting turned into mannequins.  
Ch. 5-6: E & D do research in D's mom's office. D tells E more about the circumstances surrounding her mom's disappearance.  In the morning, the two kids return to the shop, only to find the mannequins gone and the phrase "come find me" spelled out with teacups. 
Ch. 7: E & D return to Junk Junction, only to find the mannequins missing along with an assortment of other items. They go to D's house, and find some of the missing items are there along with another message from M.