Atium Compounding?

gloriousGlorfindel

Question

Hi everyone, Cosmere noob here. So, the lord ruler was pretty much immortal because he was able to compound atium, I'm not totally clear on how that works.

I think I understand how compounding works, you store an attribute in a metalmind via Feruchemy and then burn it with Allomancy. Since Allomancy is net positive with investiture coming from Preservation you get a lot more of the attribute than what you stored in it. 

This makes sense to me if we look at gold for instance (with Miles HundredLives), he could heal from essentially anything as long as he had gold. 

Now with atium, if you're not a compounder since Feruchemy is net zero, after you burn the Atium, you are restored to your "original" age.

But if you're a compounder, you can burn enough atium to be a certain age then should'nt that change be permanent like how it is for gold?

Say, I'm a 100 years old (original age), I burn enough atium so that I'm 20 now, then shouldn't I remain at 20 if I take off the metal minds? That's how it works for gold doesn't it. You don't have to permanently keep burning gold to ensure all your past injuries remain healed. Why is it different for atium?

5 answers to this question

It is also not something that can be done indefinitely.

Doom-Slayer

So how do the exact mechanics of Feruchemy in relation to Compounding work?

This confusion is primarily around how [the Lord Ruler] gets his near infinite age.

Okay. So first off, I understand the concept of how they work. Feruchemy is net zero, Allomancy is net positive, combine them and you end with a net positive Feruchemy ability.