The Biggest RAFO

Kobold King

So, this is from the 2014 Omaha book signing:

Q: Has Hoid ever visited the planet Braize?

A: (sing-song voice) RAFO. Such a big RAFO. The biggest RAFO.

From the specific wording of the answer, I have deduced that this question is somehow important in a way we don't currently understand. This is the sort of brilliant intellectual work I am capable of.

So what I'm wondering is, why is this question such a big RAFO? We know Hoid isn't one of the Heralds, so that answer is out. Why does it matter whether Hoid's taken a stroll down Damnation Avenue at some point?

Personally, I'm not good with this sort of guesswork. I've been toying with the idea of Braize being the current state of Yolen, but I have little evidence to support this.

So, discuss, maybe?

I like the idea that Braze was/is Yolen. I dont think it is, but I like it. I think Hoid was part of the reason why Braze is like it is. When talking to Dalinar he said something about being willing to let Roshar burn to get his way. Or something like that. Maybe Hoid already let it burn once and that is why the Tranqualine Halls (TH is Braze maybe) was evacuated. Hoid could be the reason the people on Roshar are there and not in the TH. He needed something and didn't care how.

We know that there are three planets in the Greater Roshar System: Ashyn, Braize and Roshar (in alphabetical order ;)). Given the information that Odium is on Braize, it was theorized that Braize = Damnation. We know little about Ashyn and nothing about Braize.*

This WoB might be interesting, too:

Q: So there are two other planets in the Roshar system, are they the Tranquiline Halls and Damnation that you mentioned in TWoK?

A: There has been in the past knowledge of other planets in the system and that has indeed influenced the mythology of the world.

source

Meanwhile I also saw posts with speculations those speculations that Braize is the former Yolen. I admit I have no opinion about this at the moment.