Aluminum Bullets

Govir

I'm relistening to Alloy of Law, and something jumped out at me as being odd. It was the scene where Wax is trying to determine the Aluminum alloy used in the guns and bullets. It seems to be a metal that he's not familiar with, and it's brought up a few times later (like when he visits Ranette).

Do we ever find out what the other metal in them is (I've read all of Era 2, but can't remember it specifically)? It seems like a brand new thing (making guns and bullets out of aluminum), starting with the Vanishers, so I was wondering if it could be Trell's metal, since that group is involved with them.

I believe the gist of it is that aluminum in and of itself cannot be used in guns, as it simply wouldn't work as the basis for a bullet. I don't know the real mechanics, because I'm no gun expert. But it has to be a variation of sorts of the metal in order to function as a bullet. Someone else with more weaponry knowledge can explain this in greater detail.

But that is a good catch. I say good job finding that on your own.

well, aluminium is a poor choice of material for a weapon because it has bad mechanical properties for it. You can counter that with some alloying. it is also very light, meaning the bullet won't have much power or range. that you can't change, unless you alloy it so much that it's no longer aluminium.

the ressulting weapon is still good enough to kill, of course.

The allot that the gun is made of is a real life alloy. Wax mentions "Ekaboron" which is another name for scandium, and that is used in real life in the frames of guns because of its strength and light weight. The percentages are even the same. 

The bullets though? That's never identified. And scandium alloys still aren't doable for bullets or gun barrels/chambers.