[SPOILERS]Does anyone find Mistborn Hero of Ages ending one of the saddest?

celpas

I am new to the Cosmere and fantasy genre in general and finished reading the original Mistborn trilogy and the part where they die seems very sad to me.  I have read through Harry Potter, Inheritance Cycle, and Percy Jackson series and none of the endings hit me like a sack of bricks like this one did. In my opinion, at least one of them should have lived. I was expecting Elend to die since the second book but never thought the protagonist herself would die too. The only happy aspect of that ending was Sazed says they are happy wherever they are but we don't actually get to see this conversation which is a bummer. Are all of Brandon's books like this where the main character has no plot armor? 

Edited by celpas

2 hours ago, Alicia Whiteheart said:

I'm sorry, but WHAT?!? Directly from the rules post Re: Spoilers 

Spoiler Policy

Our policy on spoilers depends on what forum you are posting in.

The Brandon News and Discussion and General Dan Discussion forums are non-spoiler forums. You must denote spoiler in the topic title (usually by writing *spoiler* in it), or use spoiler tags.

In General Theories, there are no spoiler notices required, and spoiler tags are extremely discouraged. Read at your own risk.

For an individual book or series forum, spoiler tags must always be used if one is referencing another series (like, if someone is posting in Mistborn, but referencing Stormlight Archive). However, if a book in that series has been out more than six months, spoilers are now permitted in that forum without needing to be tagged. So, for example, there would be a window where Alloy of Law spoilers require a spoiler notification, but a few months later, that would no longer be a problem.

You clicked on a page directly in a subforum for Mistborn about a book nearly a decade old, and want spoiler tags?

Edited by Naurock

38 minutes ago, Naurock said: