Just finished Elantris, Need to Re-Read it?

Ok,

I am new to Brandon Sanderson, and started with Elantris (audiobook version).  

The story started off way too slow for me, and I almost didnt hang in there by the time I reached chapter 5 or 6.  However, the story started to unfold, and I just finished the book a couple of days ago.

Some of the things I liked about the book was the use of magic, character development, and the whole idea of the condition of Elantris, as well as how it was used as a place to put people who got "infected" by the Shaod.  The condition they were in was totally interesting, as well as what happens to a society where its inhabitants must live under those conditions.  The parts that really captured my attention was when I was saying to myself "no way, did that really happen?"

Some things I struggled with were the long sections of nothing really happening (yawn), the political aspects (admittedly, I am not into politics at all) and how it seems like many ideas created by the author were just thrown at the reader, without much introduction or explanation.  Many of those ideas never really got developed or explored as much as I would have liked to see, especially since he created so many unfamiliar fantasy components in his story.  The "happy ever after" ending wasnt as creative or epic as it could have been.

Overall, I enjoyed the book.  I can now understand why so many people re-read the book, as I have the inclination to go through it again, especially since I listened to the audiobook mostly while driving.

Some advice I would give if/when you reread it:

Read it with the idea that Hrathen is the hero of the story in mind. It will give you very different and in my opinion more interesting perspective of the entire story.

Edit: Welcome to the Shard. Have an upvote. Eat as many cookies as you can.B)

Edited by The Sovereign

He's kidding about the cookies.