2017-11-18 [Oathbringer] Murder By The Book - Houston, TX

Pagerunner

So, signing in Houston. I'll be there, I'll be square, and I'll have a copy of the Mistborn board game with me, so I hope there'll be some space to play it. I'm new to the Texas area; any advice from those who have been to this venue before?

It looks like you need to purchase a copy of Oathbringer from the store in order to go through the signing line; anyone can come listen to the general Q&A, but they only give out signing line numbers to those who have bought the book from them. Signing line gets OB and 3 older titles signed; I might need to bring Alloy and Elantris 10th Anniversary, since they're thinner and I need space in my backpack for the board game! I can't decide if I should take off work on the 14th and drive over (I'm about an hour and a half away) to buy my copy in the store, or just get an ebook to read on Day One and buy it online from them. Has anyone ordered from them before? If I preorder a book, will it get there on release day?

Has anyone typically recorded the signing line in the past? I'd be down to buy some equipment, if no one else already has that covered. It would give me a good excuse to sit around playing House War, and maybe slip in some extra questions at the end.

EDIT: Full transcription of the event can be found here.

This would be close to a 4 hour drive for me depending on traffic. I've never been to a book signing before so it would be exciting to go. It's also during my vacation time and two days before my birthday so it'd be an early birthday present to myself.

For the 3 max I might bring Alcatraz 1, Elantris 10th and Arcanum Unbounded since I'd rather bring a big paperback and hardcover for signing.

If I'm there maybe we'd both play House War, though I've never played before.