The Importance of Being Sel

What do you think is the importance of Sel in the cosmere? It obviously must hold some significance for Brandon to keep writing about the world, but I don't see how it could have anything to do with what is going down on Roshar and Scadrial. The society of Sel doesn't seem to have advanced forward enough to play a role in the interplanetary travel that is bound to happen on these worlds, especially with its magic being geographically based. Will the fight come to Sel? Or will Sel change by the time Elantris 2 comes out? I'd love to know what theories are out there. 

I'm no expert on Sel, but I do know that its Shards and magic are tied closely with the Cognitive Realm. Something to do with both the Shards being pressed into the Cognitive after being splintered and the teleportation displayed by Raoden at the end of Elantris.

EDIT: This could tie closely with interstellar travel, as travel is supposedly easier in the Cognitive Realm

Edited by Jedal

Speaking of the importance of Sel, what about the importance of ChayShan, one of my favorite magics? We barely know anything about it, except that it can be extremely powerful. Shuden was able to break the bones of Dakhor monks with a single blow, and he himself said that he was an amateur in the art. What could an expert do? Could ChayShan break shardplate? And what about the effects of ChayShan in other Realms? I think this is something to think about... maybe I should just make this a separate thread.

Oooh, you bring up a good point about ChayShan. Shardplate seems to be the strongest thing in the cosmere right now (as far as I can recall), so I would love to see a fight between a shardbearer and someone who knows how to use ChayShan. Is ChayShan able to travel offworld, or is it still bound to Sel? We definitely need a sequel to Elantris that addresses this in some form. I can't imagine how powerful a full expert could be. We need a fight scene (or several)!