soyperson

Breath of the Wild

92 posts in this topic

With less than a month now until the release of the new Zelda game, for which I am very hyped, I figure now's a good of a time as any to set up a discussion thread for it.

Anyone else looking forward to this new instalment?

Edited by bleeder

I'm relatively new to the Zelda fandom. Skyward Sword was my first game (I won't count playing Link in SSB), and it was absolutely phenomenal. I've played bits and pieces of others, but Skyward Sword's motion controls were just astounding, how well everything worked. And on top of that, the story and music, which I understand are par for the course for Zelda games, were really enjoyable. I've got Twilight Princess and Ocarina of Time, but I haven't worked through them yet.

So, yeah, I've got Breath of the Wild on preorder. For Wii U; I'm not gonna shell out a couple hundred bucks for a single game, even if the difference in graphics quality is noticeable. I figure it'll manage to suck me in anyways, and Super Smash Bros and Nintendoland are still big hits at my house, so I'm not giving up on my Wii U yet.

We'll see how much time I have to actually play the game. I'm not in college anymore, I don't have Christmas break to devote to a 100%, no-walkthrough experience. (Which I didn't do for Skyward Sword, but regretted it enough that the next game I played, Lego City Undercover, I was successful in avoiding walkthroughs and got to 100%. So worth it, but it took a ton of time, and my last unlockable character was super frustrating 'cause I got hung up chasing a glitch instead of the actual solution.) I do a lot of volunteering in the summer, so I'll only have March and April to really go to town on Zelda.

I'm not draining my pockets for the Switch, either. Wii U preorder for me. Had the preorder in since, like, September.