20170206 - The Seeds of Dissolution - Ch3 - Mandamon - 4402

Mandamon

Hello all,
Here is chapter 3, half of which is from Origon's POV.

Previously:
Ch1: Sam gets very cold, loses his aunt, and gets sucked through a hole
Ch2: Sam has a big freakout at the new world he's in, meets a strange alien

Looking for:
-Does the worldbuilding work, is it too descriptive?
-Connection to the characters
-How is the arc of the chapter?
-Anything else you see

- Really looking forward to reading this from Origon's perspective. I really like the character so I'm curious how he'll react to Sam.

- I know Sam is in shock, but I'd like to see him interject more into the conversation , if only to see Origon react.

- "I'm a psychologist," Rilian said. Origon grunted. He had just said that." - I love that note from Origon.

- I really like the first part of this section. It's really cool to see the world-building from someone who is used to that world, rather than someone like Sam, who is learning about it the first time. Plus I'm curious to see the Song's effect on Sam going forward.

- I was hoping the Song would have a more profound effect on Sam's personality, even if it was temporary. It seems like it just pushes the anxiety into the back of his mind which was . . . kind of anticlimatic to me. But maybe that's just me.

- Overall, I really like this pairing of characters and definitely want to see more. 

-Does the worldbuilding work, is it too descriptive?

I actually would have liked more description! :) But more in the sense of little details as they're talking.  I'm feeling a little bit of the floating head syndrome during the conversation, even though you have nice descriptions later in the chapter.  I think the world sounds interesting.  I liked the bit at the beginning about how there's a glass floor under all the dirt.  It does make me wonder what all these buildings are made of - are they all glass?  What kind of resources do they have here?