Questions about Spacetime

Hey, is anyone out there an astronomer or something like it? Because I've been looking up what spacetime is, but haven't gotten a clear answer. Here's what I have so far:

Imagine the universe as flat. You lie all the planets, stars, and particles onto the surface. Depending on the gravity strength of the object, it will create ripples. Black holes will cause tears. Right now, I'm wondering if this is correct, what that fabric is, and what a flat universe would look like. If you know anything about this, please respond because I haven't gotten anywhere on other sites. 

Wow. This is a big scale question. I'm by no means an expert on relativity, but I do have a working knowledge.

The two dimensional model of space-time is a bit of an over-simplification. The 'fabric' is not exactly a fabric, but a four dimensional continuum. And even that's not quite right. As for black holes, well, they don't exactly "tear" space-time, rather, they create an infinitely deep pit. And as for a flat universe, well, as far as we can tell, we are living in a flat universe. We've found no evidence of curvature on a large scale, and the distortions caused by stars and planets are rather small and don't really contribute on the larger scale of things.

@Assassin in Burgundy I will need to reach out to my brothers for the details (one got his PhD in  Math for Celestial-Mechanics and ADVANCED number theory and the other is working toward a PhD in physics.)