01/02/16 - Yados - Blackhands - Lyan 1 (2,001)

Yados

Sorry for the delay. I was out and stretched pretty thin and my cloud did not sync to my phone so the only thing I had on hand when I remembered it was Monday was an even rougher copy of this chapter.

Which reminds me: Guys, this is rough. 

I’m having problems with this character. I like the concept of a more heroic but beset foil to Till and once the two meet and the plot starts going, I’m set. But Lyan on her own is hard. This is my first try at a first chapter that I haven’t hated outright, but it’s still rough and also almost still a prologue. It doesn’t introduce much of anything aside from Lyan and some character framing and I should probably go back into it at some point and fill out world stuff because “generic market, thief, guard” isn’t that great by itself… at least not for a first chapter. But I think I kind of got a demeanor and voice and I started her slight later than this before so this feels a bit grounding? 

I don’t know what I’m asking for with this one. Buy in? I guess buy in. Character premise? I dunno. 

My alternate plan is to change her PoV’s to Roah from Till 4 and try to rework the plot. She’s more central and has more driving action, but she’s also kind of similar to Till and both of them are older and have disabilities and powers and cynicism… so I’m trying to get Lyan right instead. 

So yeah, thoughts are appreciated. Insight and attempts at direction especially. 

Thanks for the benefit of your eyes and brains! 

Okay, so since it's a rough draft, I'll skip the 'as I go comments' and just give you some general impressions on buy in.