Mistborn Adventure Game

Quiver

So, I've had some experience with video game RPGs, but reading FeatgerWriters Sydney Scroungers transcripts make me curious about table top role playing.

And, well, I happen to know there's one based on a series if novels by this writer I sort of like...

Can anyone give me any feedback on the game? How is it played? Is it any good? Would it be bad for an aspiring writer to jump into that as his first experiment with the genre?

I, personally, like it....a lot.

Some rpg's like dnd are very rule constrained. There is are rules everywhere and it is like the dungeon master sets a challenge for the players to overcome. Like most crpg's really.

The MAG focuses far more on narrative. It is very freeform and the rules are a lot less set and more up to determination. As a result it is harder to get used to than the more rule-centric rpg's but it can be very rewarding. Sometimes it is more like collaboratively telling a narrative with dice rolls helping decide outcomes. In that sense it is probably great for an aspiring writer.

If you want to get some idea of what it can be like, over at steelministry we have a quick game running where we have a group of powerful characters attempting to kill the lord ruler. (We are all about to die.) That one is readable without creating an account if you want to take a look. Of course, you are welcome to create an account ;) We don't have any openings in major campaigns at the moment but we always advertise spots for new players there first and we are happy to have people jump on. We also recently also started up "The arena" for having a bit of fun with the combat side of things which is also visible to anyone and the first combat there has just begun.

Futile efforts (the aforementioned game where we are trying to kill tlr) can be found here:

http://steelministry.com/viewforum.php?f=53&sid=2c27cd3b3f2c06d1ace04371c5fda4a7