Reading Excuses - 10.10.16 - T. K. Wade- Source(working title) - Prologue[V]

TKWade

I appreciate you taking the time to read my piece.

As stated in the submission, I'm new to writing and am looking to improve my skill. Any critiques will be appreciated and any help with sentence structure and punctuation would also be very helpful. Please be nitpick it to pieces.

I also have a feeling that the first couple of paragraphs are too lengthy and that I'm dumping too much information on the reader at once creating a lull that might prevent a reader from wanting to continue. Thoughts on that?

Thank you!

Hey Ernei, thanks for the crit.

I was worried about how that would work with google drive. It wouldn't let me attach it like a document straight from the drive, so next time I'll download it and then upload.

This is the type of feedback I need. I'll check out Elantris. I have been wanting to read it. I'm super new so I'm going to make rookie mistakes like a paragraph full of descriptions that are long and impossibly painful to get through. I'll definitely revise and take your suggestions to heart. I've listened to a few of his lectures online, but I haven't practiced much to be totally honest. Everyone starts somewhere I guess lol

I'll trim it up a lot and maybe use more dialog. I just wasn't sure how to start out an epic while giving a visual for a massive, tranquil city under attack. I wanted to really describe it's grandeur so it would be appreciated as sort of the height of civilization at the time. I'll find a better way to do it.

I really like unusual and unique names. It's probably not a good trait since it can make it difficult and annoying for the reader.

Again, thanks, I appreciate the time you took.

Edited by TKWade

I only see the one post. Mine acted like it posted 3 time earlier. There is a 'hide' option that appears to act as a sort of delete button. But I'm only seeing the one.