9-5-16_Hobbit_Of the Mountain Stream, Chapter 1 [off page V] - 3550 words

Hobbit

Hello again!

Everyone's suggestions last time were super helpful.  I'm excited to hear what you think of chapter 1!  This chapter occurs roughly six months prior to the events in the prologue.

I forgot to mention last time that I'm writing this with a YA audience in mind.  Though I hope it will still be interesting to all of us "old and mature" people as well. :)

Again, any and all comments are great.  I'll just give one caveat:  As we go forward, you will continue to find that I have quite the love of tropes.  (Example A:  My main character is a shepherd.  Please don't stone me.)  I do realize that a super tropey story is unlikely to get published, so if you hate these tropes and they distract from the story, please go ahead and say so, since I can certainly change them if I groom this story for publication down the line.  But at this point in my development as a writer I'm trying to learn good story mechanics, and I'm not super focused on being original.  Not that those two things are mutually exclusive, but hey... one step at a time.  

Maybe I'll make some trope bingo cards to make things more interesting...

Again, thanks for reading!