Tien's Theme: Kaladin Remembers

Here is my first musical composition for the Stormlight Archive. This is what I imagined for Tien's theme, which would (theoretically) be used for Kaladin's memories throughout The Way of Kings.  The first melody you hear (A section) is for Tien - it's meant to be song-like and sad.  The B section has some major chords and is more or less Kaladin's hero theme.  It brings a sense of determination and resolve to the overall "Tien theme" which seems appropriate for Kaladin. My goal was to create a theme for both characters that brings together the emotion of their story. 

This is all on piano - although feel free to imagine a full orchestra! :-D  WhenIf I figure out a program to make that happen, it will definitely be on my list of things to do!

(Please excuse the "lameness" of the video.  I only have Windows Live Movie Maker and for anyone who is familiar with it: you know my pain. For those of you who don't: it stinks. But, hey, I'm a musician not a film maker :-P)

Enjoy!

Just enjoyed it for the ??th time. Just wow again.

One remark: For a not-so-quick reader, the text sometimes changes too quickly. I like to spell out the words in my head, and got a little rushed now and then. Which is such a pity. Just a suggestion for your next work - which I really hope we'll hear soon!

5 hours ago, Erklitt said:

Just enjoyed it for the ??th time. Just wow again.

One remark: For a not-so-quick reader, the text sometimes changes too quickly. I like to spell out the words in my head, and got a little rushed now and then. Which is such a pity. Just a suggestion for your next work - which I really hope we'll hear soon!