27/06/16 - AliasSheep - Death (V)

AliasSheep

Hey!  This is my first thing submitted to the writing group, so first things first, I hope you enjoy.

Secondly, specifically interested in whether you think the combat scene fit, and whether the length was appropriate, and also your opinion on the scene after Death kills the first guy, whether that was too long, and how, disturbing, you found it. Thanks!

Hi Alias,

Glad you took the plunge with the writing group.  I have some general comments about your story:

1. The third sentence in the intro has too many commas segmenting it up and kind of stuttered in the way I read it. "A single boot, crafted of simple leather, against hard stone, built centuries afore, standing for years in this place, unmoving." (5 commas).  I'm not an expert on grammar rules but maybe something along the lines of  "A single boot crafted of simple leather pressed against the hard stone, which stood for centuries in this place, unmoving."
  2. The whole "themself" thing really needs to be justified for me.  My brain reads these sentences and immediately gives me an itch that it sounds wrong.  Why themself?  My mind kind of cringes at it everytime.  If you are going for a non gender floating entity type thing maybe have him refer to himself as him then laugh that he is really neither a he or a she but he settles for one pronoun or the other because humans can't wrap their head around it.
  3. I really liked the poem you included I thought it was cool.