Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Xaladin

Mark's Crosses? Please help!

7 posts in this topic

The question is simple. How are Mark's crosses: crossing lines of forbiddance inside the small circles (which appear all over the novel) made? As soon as you draw one, you won't be able to cross it while drawing the other! Do you have to do it "ambidextrously" like Prof. Fitch? Or is it really 4 lines of forbiddance that meet in the middle?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought it was stated you don't actually draw those, they're just included to help you see where the bind points should be.

jW

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm, you're right. Not sure exactly how that'd be done then, at least without adding either hassle or instability.

jW

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It could be three LoFs, right? Draw the vertical one first and then do the left and right horizontal ones?

1:   |

 

2: --|

 

3: --|--

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is one of the many almost satisfactory explanations I came up with. Probably the only explanation that will satisfy me would have to come from a WoB (or a sequel :))

Edited by Xaladin
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I asked Brandon a series of questions about rithmatics.  In a nutshell, this is the best answer I have to your question.  Rithmatics was originally conceptualized as a cosmere magic system.  This means that it is pretty close (but not bounded by and not completely consistent with) to the rules and features of cosmere magics.  Specifically, Brandon said that intent is a key facet of rithmatics.  This is pretty clear in some regards from reading the book (i.e., lines of revocation and the silencing line do not work if you draw them without intending to produce their rithmatic function).  I asked Nrandon specifically about timing of effect in regards to lines of forbiddence and he said the timing of the effect generation depends upon the intent of the rithmatist drawing the line.  My take away from this is that a rithmatist drawing a Mark's Cross would not intend for the lines of forbiddence to 'activate' until the second line had been completed. Thus, the first line would not produce an effect until the second line was drawn.

13

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.