2013-07-08 - TheSadDragon - A Missing Soul - Chapter 1 and 2

TheSadDragon

Hello All,

It's great to be back and started with the writing again.

This is the first two chapters of my Steampunk-noir story. It's 5400 words (not counting the chapter titles). So if it's a bit on the long side, you can always skip chapter 2 (seems the two chapters grew with 500 words after I went through em again -- sorry about that).

Looking forward to reading your feedback!

-TSD

I've only had time to read chapter one and will read chapter 2 later. First off, I'm somewhat new to critics and novel writing so feel free to take my opinions lightly.

I like how the story opened up but felt like the main character was missing a lot of back story. I found it difficult to bond with him and didn't know what type of person he really was. It sounds like he's an ex detective but again it's not all there.

I also liked the names of all the characters and felt like they blended together very well for setting you put them in. The city name sounds a bit too convenient and simple and kinda made me laugh to know that there was a city called Steamcity.

The scene when the main character rushed in to feed the dog had me on a bit of an edge but was let down because he just went in to feed Cogs. This part should have a stronger reason for him needing to rush in like that or it should mellowed down to where he remembers he needs to feed Cogs and finds the animal near the bowl.

I liked the weapons the main character has but the description was off and just not there. All I could picture was a cylinder with some carvings on it. Normally people can imagine what a gun looks like quite easy but a broader description is needed when describing fantasy weapons such as trigger system what it looks like in more detail.

Overall I really like it minus the grammer and word issues in some places. I'll let you know how chapter 2 is like.