June 3 - Syme - Just Another Pervert (L, S)

Syme

Syme,

Interesting read.  It is not my type of topic but I thought you did a good job with presenting both sides of the issue.

As far as the experience goes it was a quick read and I was not bored at any of the parts.  But I did suspect out at about page 9 when the Alan was going up to Roberts apartment that this was a trap, or that a shoe was going to drop.  And when Robert shut the door, I knew it was a trap.

And now for my disclaimer, I am an IT geek by trade and just starting in on this writing thing so take everything I say with a grain of salt. 

At the end I think I would have made Robert a little more insidious, a little more evil.  Make him to be worse than a pervert.  Say something like, Robert is also an addict but has made a deal with the local cops.  Robert is aloud to feed his addiction just only every time he entraps another pervert.  The positive point for the local cops from this deal is that they get good press for catching perverts.

Perhaps this is all meant to be implied.  Either way, good job.

~ShinNoir

I pretty much agree with ShinNoir.  This type of story wasn't really for me, and I got the sense of the end shortly after I started it.  I'm seeing a pattern in your short stories, where there's a good idea, good writing, but the end is either predictable or cut short.  Do you outline or discovery write?  Just as a suggestion, you might try the other one on a new story or even on an existing one to see if it makes a difference in how it ends.

I agree with some of what the others said. This was an interesting idea, but the ending was abrupt and predictable. If we'd known more about Robert and his motives that might have helped.