I'm sure most of you will have seen the following comment time and time again.

I'm new to Sanderson. I'm thinking about reading on of Sanderson's Cosmere novels, but I don't know where to start.

This post is for them.

post-12805-0-39271200-1434862385_thumb.j

Some bright spark in the Discworld community had a similar idea. They made a sheet (shown above) which has a sort of reading guide of what you should read first. It's by no means completely linear, but it helps.

So, I'm trying to organise something similar to be made. I have done a basic map of what cosmere books should be read first, though it is by no means final. From there, we can finalize it/ make it look fancy.

So hear it is. Version 0.1.

post-12805-0-68942400-1434934864_thumb.p

EDIT: Thanks to navybrandt, we now have an awesome version 1.0. Thanks! Image below.

post-12805-0-73679200-1441190000_thumb.p

Edited by TheYoungBard

• 1 month later...

It's so funny I was just asking about this on a different thread because I couldn't find a list about it, and NOW I'm finding the articles concerning it. :-) Heh. Typical.

I'm working through MB now. I was reading that you could take a couple different paths. You could go into the next phase of MB, or start on 'Elantris' and 'Warbreaker', which I'm thinking of doing next just to give myself a break from the MB universe.

Based on TheYoungBard's original post I created this graphic. Anyone with graphic design skills that wants to pretty it up, please PM me, and I can supply the original Microsoft Visio file.

post-8475-0-40845100-1439483250_thumb.pn

Edit: Applied Blaze's comments

Edit 2: Tried to make the optional book reading order easier to understand

Edited by navybrandt

Awesome graphic navybrandt! Things you left out that are not currently necessary include Era 4 Mistborn, the Cosmere YA novel that's stored somewhere in Brandon's coppermind, and the White Sand graphic novels.