20150223 - Fruits Of The Gods Ch7 Pt2 (1764) - Mandamon

Mandamon

The story so far:
Kisare and Belili escaped their captivity on the Aricaba plantation, along the way finding that Belili has a lock of magical hair colored brown, enabling her to use the Fruit that grows in their land to do magic.  They meet up with Hbelu, prince of the displaced Asha-Urmana people, and plan to work in his village, building a new life. However their old master attacks with his guards.  The village fends him off, though he vows to return.  Now, Hbelu, the elders, and Kisare and Belili hold a council on what to do next.

Thanks!

I'm new to Reading Excuses, so this my first critique . . . ummm . . . ever, if I do anything taboo, just slap me later :)

I'm obviously new to this narrative, but I really liked this chapter. I liked the idea of the different Fruits, and what it took to make them grow. I also liked the council intrigue as the village plots their new course of action. 

This might be nit-picking, but "magical hair coloring" reads a bit awkward. Maybe there needs to be a term for this in the world. I think the idea of hair coloring denoting a sign of special abilities is really interesting, but giving a special name to the phenomenon might make sound less awkward while freeing up more ways to describe it indirectly.

Since Kisare is the central character here, it feels like she is sometimes lost in the shuffle. You do a good job of showing her reactions to the proposal. But I still think there should be more about her thoughts and voice in this chapter, even if it means there is less of the council. 

I hope this helps. I can't wait to read more! 

rdpulfer--thanks for the feedback and welcome to Reading Excuses!

I've also thought "magical hair coloring" is kind of awkward.  I haven't come up with a good alternative yet...If you think of anything let me know!