08.09.2014 - Tal Spektor - Washed Orchards (353 words)

Dysphoric Kitten

I mainly tried to work on being clearer and more concise than before. I also tried embedding a few unexplained layers of content, which means you should be able to figure out more about the reality and the past event I am alluding to, each with a reasonable amount of detail. I may have done it incorrectly, though, as this is my first attempt at such a thing.

Enjoy!

Whenever confronted with a piece of writing like this, I have a standard catch-phrase that I always apply: "It's like modern art...I have no clue what it is, but I like it."

I'm used to longer pieces, and as a relentlessly linear thinker obsessed with clarity and brutal honesty, I have difficulty approaching or critiquing that which is abstract. 

That said, your prose is vivid, and while I have absolutely no clue what you are getting at - I was certainly able to immerse myself in the scene. And the raw emotion came through. 

The one thing that threw me out was the smell of cleaning fluids - not sure if that's intentional, but that's certainly something that I don't associate with orange fields. 

The best part was probably the tree with "her" voice and the fact that he acts out against it.

Anything beyond that is a bit above my pay grade, as I usually don't engage things that are quite this trippy - but it's interesting for sure.

I'm also not very good at parsing short fiction, but you have captured a state of being, and a certain emotion, very well.  There are still a few sections where the sentences could be tightened up, especially in the last paragraph.

While it's short, there was still a sort of arc to the story, and even a conclusion, which gives a believable end to the scene.

Apologies for the delay in responding - I'm really focused on the Write About Dragons course, so my time is limited, but I'm determined to keep up with Reading Excuses, if a bit behind. So...