January 16, '12 – Hubay; Lord Domestic Ch 1(Lisu)

Hubay

Hey everyone! There's a lot of new faces since the last time I posted in my novel, so I thought I'd change things up and post a chapter at the start of the novel, only with a diffent POV. I've got most of Jhuz's storyline taken care of by now, so I might as well focus on Lisu and Duko, anyways. Chronologically this takes place at more or less the same time as Chapter 1 in Jhuz's story, but while Jhuz is located in the northern reaches of the empire, Lisu's set in the Imperial capital, Matis. Lisu's familiar is Ivy, which allows her to walk on walls, so there's some unavoidable parallels with her ability and a certain Shin assassin. Hopefully it doesn't seem too similar. Anyways, I hope you enjoy it!

Lord Domestic – Ch1 (Lisu) –[L,V,S,]

Lisu Carsada, a Druyan and Ivy-metsi, is forced on the run when the Imperial Legion tries to enlist her.

This is my first attempt at critiquing.

There were many names on the first page, and I got a little scared and thought "am I supposed to remember all this?" but then I got saved by the “I never can understand all that nonsense they go on about” line, Then I felt a relief that there was a character who I could relate too.

I thought the “Miss. Miss! Two more glasses of the house red.”-line was very clever, the way you avoided describing the environment until then, since that line opened the world up to my imagination.

I think you described the characters well, for example "somewhat pretty" which will be interpreted differently by every reader. I'll happily steal that trick from you :D

The story felt very active (if that's the term), and you're good at pushing the story forward.

If the rest of the chapters work like this I know I won't be bored.

Since I just finished reading Warbreaker, I think this would be a great book to pick up next :)

Edited by Wrim