Reading Excuses - 02/19/23 - Yuliya - Anorbitals_ch5_v1, 3,965 words

Little_Dagger

I'm new to this story, so take my comments with a grain of salt.

Overall

Hmm. I'm guessing the purpose of this chapter was for the man to leave the camp? The end worked for that, as did the last few pages. The first two or so pages also worked as an introduction. I felt like the middle was bogged down with talk of the tree which didn't seem to lead anywhere. We didn't get new information it felt like, just rehashing. I'm left to wonder what momentum we had in the B and C plots this chapter, unless the C / romance plot is our MC falling for the girl/woman?

As I go

- thick trunks do not go with potted trees. This throws me from the narrative

- pg 2: there's a lot of 'those' in these first two pages and I don't know what they're referring to

- pg 2: How snug that dress had become in places that were loose before, and how ungirlishly intricately her hair was now arranged <-- errr, is he supposed to be a father figure? If so this isn't cool. If he's the eventual love interest, what is the age gap here? Wide enough that he feels paternal but narrow enough that she could be a partner? There's a squick factor here. The 'months now' part also makes it read like she only just hit puberty, so she's 16 at best, assuming poor nutrition for most of her life delayed it. 

- pg 2: other little girls were more considerate of their fathers <-- so she's a little girl? Then double squick. But if she's a little girl how does she have the autonomy to invite people over?

- pg 4: the people visiting keep being referred to as 'men,' so now I'm just confused. N is a young girl / young lady but is hanging out with full grown men?

- pg 6: It's hard not to skim through here. I'm not sure what the greater plot is. They just seem to be talking about trees and our MC is trying to not lust

- pg 7: Good girl continues to add to the confusion