Reading Excuses - 1/30/23 - Yuliya - Anorbitals v1 sub 1, 3521 words (light V)

Little_Dagger

Hi everyone!

I am a new member of the group, and I am very grateful for the opportunity to both share my work with you and read your wonderful stories. Only one week in, and it has already been a learning experience. 

I write epic fantasy, though since I am new to writing, I am excited to explore and experiment with other genres. 

I am looking for feedback on the plot and the feel of the story but also comments on grammar if you find something amiss (English is not my native language, and I often struggle with subtleties or structure of the phrases).

Thank you and have a great week ahead!

Welcome to Reading Excuses, it's great to have you here!

Pg 1-I'm enjoying the beginning, I like how you get right into things.

Pg 1-By paragraph two I'm pretty sure B has just been running and that's why he's trying to catch his breath, but I'm not entirely certain.

Pg 1-"It was almost as if they were canceling each other’s sound waves and done it in such a perfect synchrony that not even the softest sound escaped for more than a few feet." Done should be doing.

Pg-1 In paragraph three you mentioned how much preparation B has put into getting ready for the event. I found this added importance and intrigue to it. Great job!

Pg 2-"Their only hope now was that the beast was further than they expected." I think there's a word missing here. Maybe add away after further.

Pg 2-"who seemed to run without pausing" Generally when running there is no pausing. I think what you were trying to convey is that they were easily moving across the pebbles. Maybe change pausing to another word.

Pg 2-I'm liking how B is made out to be the leader of this whole thing, but is somewhat clumsy I'm finding it to be quite entertaining.

Pg 2-"Each quick step struggling to fall on dry and flat." There's a word missing here. Maybe add ground after flat.