1/23/23- Cathy Lim- Traveler's Magic- sub 1, 3,470 words

Cathy Lim

Hello Everyone!

I am new to Reading Excuses. Bill Tracy has graciously (heroically?) taken on the challenge of publishing my series. While he works on developmental edits of the first book, he wanted me to get reader feedback from this forum for the second book. Per his suggestion I have included a synopsis of book one for you- it does not need any critique. I only included chapter one of book two so I it could be a short read for you all.

This is a YA second world fantasy. This draft is only one clean up edit away from the first draft so it’s still very rough. I’m looking for reader feedback on the story- what’s working and what’s not working for you. 

Thank you!

Welcome! Always glad to see a new face

Overall

I think this chapter may need to be cut. The dream makes a good start but then it becomes a walking around town and introducing people chapter. This can be fine as long as it advances the plot and has an arc, but there's so much information and so many names I'm not sure what I'm to focus on. There also doesn't appear to be an arc to the chapter. Is the inciting incident the dream, or the first day of being a librarian? If it's the librarian then we need to start the chapter on her actual first day and get to the inciting incident from that (dropping books in front of Someone Important? Doesn't know how to use a magical card catalog?). 

While well written, the chapter comes off more like a character exercise. Which is just fine and we all do them, but I think at this stage best to delete it and move us to where the forward plot progression begins.

Looking forward to the next chapter. I do love a good library story.

As I go

- pg 4: As all the action focus seems to be on the man at the door, I'm left wondering why we aren't in his POV. I feel very removed from the action and emotion here