Reading Excuses - 2022-10-03 - FlowerGirl - To be named

FlowerGirl

This is the first chapter of a new novel I'm working on. I'm lost on what to title it, suggestions are appreciated.

This is my first time submitting and I really want to know what you don't like or what I'm doing wrong. I'd like to know what's working in the story and what isn't, also

What's your understanding of the rules of the world? I want to know if I'm conveying this clearly.

I'd also be interested to hear your take on my characters personalities. Do they have personalities? Sometimes I think I've given them personalities when I actually haven't so I'd love to hear your opinion.

Finally I'm interested to hear where you think the story is going. What do you feel is being set up?

Thanks for your time and can't wait to hear what you think.

-FlowerGirl

First off, congrats on your first sub! Overall, I love the story thus far! The characters, plot, and world all seem ripe with potential, and I can't wait to see where they go & learn more!

• As far as titles go, I know they can be tricky, and sometimes they become more apparent towards the end[1]. To that end, I feel I wouldn't be able to make an appropriate suggestion until having read the final chapter[2]. Out of curiosity, how far along on this new novel are you? (e.g., 2nd draft, almost finished with the middle, etc.)
  • As for what's not working, there's some grammar stuff, but I think the biggest issue is that some of the wording feels unnecessary and is slowing down the pace--which makes me a bit envious as I think that's a surface-level thing that's more easily fixable than some of the structural issues I've encountered in my own work. Furthermore, I personally never felt frustrated while coming across an issue, which I think is the sure sign of a good story[3]!