difference in writing mechanism from Brandon and movie producers

I remember a discussion, years ago, when someone was afraid brandon would have a bad time and release a truly bad book. and the answer was that it's basically impossible; brandon does not write alone, but he has a team of editors, alpha and beta readers. so brandon may have a bad month and write a bad book, but then his editors would point out the problems with it, and the alpha readers would point out the problems with it, and brandon would go back and fix the book. or maybe put it aside, apparently it's what happened to apocalypse guard. this system ensures that brandon will keep writing quality fiction.

I recalled that discussion as I considered the movie business. Granted, I am not a great expert here, but I keep hearing of long-running franchises being ruined by bad plotting. game of thrones is the first example coming to mind, but I've seen scathing reviews on the jurassick park franchise, and a simple look at the tvtropes page "seasonal rot" will produce dozens of examples.

and most of those examples are really stupid. like, glaring plot holes or nonsensical stuff. the kind of problems that any editor or alpha reader would immediately signal as "wait, this doesn't make any sense". well, ok, I can see that there can be no alpha watchers because if you have them then you already made the movie, and then it would be too expensive to go hire the actors again to change scenes and fix problems. But surely they can get editing on the script. And with editing on the script, they could at least ensure they don't make anything too dumb.

Why, then, this does not seem to be the case?

A few reasons immediately pop to mind:

1. What sounds good on paper and is good in person doesn't actually look good when everything is said and done. That means that some changes can't get fixed until it's too late. (The reverse is also true.*) A book rarely has this problem.