08/22/2011 - Mad_Scientist - Apostle of Death (V)‏

Mad_Scientist

For this week, I am sending a short story I wrote recently: "Apostle of Death." I originally started this story as a writing exercise to see if I could write a short story based on a starting line that went something like "(Character name) knew he would be dead in 10 minutes." It's my first attempt to write a short story. Since I was busy with family this past week I wasn't able to work on Solitude any more, so I decided to send this out instead. Let's see you think.

I know you said this was a short story, but are you intending to follow up on it? I felt the ending, while it had closure, was very incomplete. If you don't intend to expand upon it, maybe you should create a more full circle of his character arch? Something where – depending on death's moral system – he comes to terms with the fact that he cannot kill the murderers he hates? I'm not sure what's necessary, just that right now it seems unfinished.

That said, I enjoyed the story quite a bit, and I liked your idea of the god of death. I'd be interested to see this expanded upon in greater detail. I'm curious what the apostles do to murderers, since killing them seems counter-intuitive.

The only other things that bugged be were your use of the world 'soul' and the flashback. I feel like your character might not think of himself, while dead, as being a 'soul.' I felt he might just think of himself as himself, and not think to make that distinction expect in an abstract sort of way.