Hello all,

This is my first time starting a topic on these forums and, well, my first posting ANY topic on ANY type of forums.  So like I said, a beginning.

Anyway, I just listened to Writing Excuses for the first time, despite seeing constant updates from Adam on Brandon's website about it.  This weekend, I tried it out by listening to both the most recent episode and the very first episode.  I gotta say, I've been missing out.  I really enjoyed listening to it.  

Just out of curiosity, who are the other people that are part of the podcast?  Brandon is the only one that I specifically know of.

Welcome! The Writing Excuses podcasts are really excellent (as are Brandon's YT videos, if you haven't seen them... search my YT channel "zmunk" for a mirror).

The original four were (I believe):

You might know Dan Wells for the "7-point structure" for stories, as that is pretty popular even outside the podcast. They've had other visiting and recurring guests in the last few years, but I don't know them all.

Thanks, that's a big help!  I'm afraid I'm not familiar with the "7-point structure", but I'm not very well-versed in the many concepts behind writing (I'm an engineering student, so math is my forte).  However, I feel like I've always had some sort of story simmering in my head.  I absolutely love reading and want to try to craft a story of my own.  I've been developing one in particular for the past year or so, but haven't put anything down on paper, in part because I'm afraid that if I try, I'll ruin what I have in my head, and in part because I just don't have free time.  I thought that listening to Writing Excuses would be an excellent starting point for listening to the nuances of writing, and yeah, Brandon's YouTube videos sound like a good idea too, so I'll have to check those out.

Thanks!

6 hours ago, Stick's Interlude said: