11/13/17 - MasterJack - Prologue - 1,793 Words - (V)

MistbornAlpaca

This is my first time submitting, and I'm also a very new writer, so hopefully, I formatted everything correctly.

There's not any more violence than an average epic fantasy, and it's nothing graphic, but it's in there, so I just thought I'd flag that.

Let me know what you think. The main thing I'm looking for in this first draft is what promises I'm making for the rest of the story.

First off, welcome to Reading Excuses!

My thoughts as I went:

Pg. 1 "... keeping this desolate planet alive." This implies to me that as the story progresses, we will be made aware of, and probably visit other (non-desolate) planets. If that wasn't your intention, I would use the word 'world' instead; it has fewer science-fiction connotations.

Pg. 1 "The most precious artifact is at risk, nonetheless from the Master of the Swifters, and they send me four guards." The phrasing here feels awkward to me. Maybe "... at risk, from the Master of the Swifters him/herself, and..."

Pg. 1 "The guards would do the same he knew." should be "The guards would do the same, he knew."

Pg. 2 The latter half of this page builds tension very effectively.

Pg. 3 "He moved into the blow, moving his hand through the tendril." Repetition of 'move' is awkward.

Pg. 3 "seemed as hard as sandstone, to a Slasher" should be either "seemed as hard as sandstone, but to a Slasher" or "seemed as hard as sandstone. To a Slasher"

Pg. 3 "The tendril impaled him," makes it sound like the tendril had rammed through his chestplate without impaling him, came back around, and then impaled him. I like the visceral feel the word lends, though, so maybe the sentence should start, "The tendril lifted the impaled guard into the air..."

Pg. 3 "the free end dissolved into sand, filling the room with a thick cloud of dust." I would remove "into sand," it feels redundant.