13/11/17 - WritingAubergine - Goats: An Excerpt (V) - (1,023 words)

WritingAubergine

Hello all,

I was unsure whether to include the violence tag, but I thought better safe than sorry. There isn't much though, but it is there.

I'm looking for anything and everything, but the three specific things that come to mind are:

- Does the framing work, or do I need to bulk it up more at the beginning?
- Are there any bits that jarred you from the story?
- Which bits, if any, made you laugh?

I hope this finds you all well, and thanks for having me

Great story @WritingAubergine! I love the voice of the narrator and the crazy twist on the classic fairy tale! Also, I'm not very good at this whole writing thing yet, so don't take anything I say as fact. I'm basing all of my comments on my personal observations and feelings, and my suggestions are what I would do to fix it.

1. The ending where the narrator begins talking to Paul really threw me out. I think you realized this might happen based on your question about the framing. Establishing the framing at the beginning a little more would definitely help.
  2. Besides what I just mentioned, the dialogue from the big goat threw me off. He starts off with a lot of contractions and short sentences with bad grammar (I love it!) But he then transitions into longer sentences without any contractions at all. Another thing about his dialogue threw me off, which is where he goes from saying that he's told his family trolls are nice, to yelling at Bert telling him they're all thieves. This might be because this goat has a temper, but he seems to jump to a conclusion that all trolls are evil based on this one experience, which was a little difficult to believe.