Hazy View - Short Story

Kynedath

Hey, I wrote a thing for school, and I just handed it in, but I wanted to know what you guys thought of it. A bit of background, I'm a pilot, this is an exaggerated story about something that happened to me, and this is based on last summer where I was accepted onto a $50,000 scholarship to get my private pilot's license in seven weeks through the air cadet program in Canada.

Without further ado, here is Hazy View.

Spoiler

The dim sun stared through a smoky sky at the young man as he replaced the gas cap on the top of the wing, giving it one last turn to lock it in place. He could still smell the remaining 100LL fuel of the plane’s gas tanks.The dipstick had read 15 gallons, easily surpassing the minimum limit for the planned flight.

Stepping off the strut of Cessna-172 C-GGAD and walking around to the pilot’s door, the 17 year old pilot in training assessed the weather conditions. Smoke was abundant, but the visibility was still within the limits of visual flight regulations. The winds were reasonable, there was no precipitation in the area, cloud bases were higher than the planned flight exercises, the weather was predominantly exceptional.

After replacing the dipstick in the pouch on the back of the pilot’s seat, he closed the door and headed inside the flight school to meet his instructor. The door swung open as he was approaching it, and Eastwood strolled out, as confident as his namesake in Hang ‘Em High. His ridiculously oversized belt buckle reflected the dull sunlight onto the tarmac.

“Going out for your cross-country East?”

“Nah, I still got a few more solos to practice my approach and landing. Trashcan thinks that I still need some work there.”

“Ah, too bad dude. But you’ll get there. My bet is you’ll be good for it tomorrow.”

“That’s what I’m hoping for. Oh hey, can I use your jerry can?”

“Sure, it’s right beside GADdy.”

“Thanks Phantom! Good luck out there!”