Rowan Tal'morra, A1 - TKWade - 9/11/17 - 2,877 words - (V,L)

TKWade

Again, I have some background written up in the email that may help understand some of the terminology used in the story.

I'm looking for character buy in, story and character consistency, and assistance, if you're willing to point out and explain punctuation and grammatical errors.

Thanks for taking the time to read :)

Great to read some more of your writing. I look back and see that the last time was February. Good to have you back!

• Candrian Road” – as a name, this should be capitalised.
  • I like the opening, I think it’s well done. I get a strong sense of disconnection from the world. I get something of a visual image of the character too, and a good sense of the local setting.
  • "she was beautiful” – This is an opportunity for some writing craft, to show the reader a picture of her. This is really a bit lame. Everyone’s beautiful in some way, and to someone. Why is/was she beautiful to him.
  • But at the end he would have his life back” – I feel there’s a gap here. Did he lose his life because he danced with the woman? We don’t know why he lost his life. We know bad things happened to her, but I'd be more invested in his fate knowing why he is in hiding.
  • pulled by large clydesdales” – some people might not know these are horses, maybe? Also, this kind of places your story in another Earth. Also, Clydesdale is the name of a bread, and should be capitalised.
  • I think you mean ‘ruckus’ in the street? I don’t know what ‘rouacus’ is.
  • I feel like there are a lot of commas missing at the natural pauses, but I’m not going to mark them. E.g. though, “As Rowan approached, the man looked up.” Some might say it’s a style thing, but to me, if you omit the comma, you read “As Rowan approach the man…” and expect the pause there, but you don’t get it, so you get this kind of flat automatic-sounding sentence, without intonation. Maybe it’s just me.
  • giving the man a wide berth