Future Writer Fan

Draginon

Hi, I've been a lurker for a while and finally decided to make an account.

I only started reading Mr. Sanderson's books last year but I've owned one for longer than that, the book being The Way of Kings. It took me a while to get around because I spent a long while reading the Wheel of Time, I know Brandon wrote the last three but I'm not sure whether they should count or not, along with not actually having his other books.

As you can tell from the title I'm also an aspiring writer and my username is the name of the main character from my main fantasy story I'm writing.

Hope to enjoy my time here!

@Draginon Hey, welcome to the Shard! Have an upvote and a free spiked delicious cookie!

Spoiler

cookie.jpg

DISCLAIMER: Side effects include, but are not limited to, hearing voices, gaining supernatural powers, having the sudden urge to kill everyone, and completely losing control over your mind and body. The Dark Alley™ claims no liability for any damage done to/by the eater of this cookie.

Have you read the sequel to The Way of Kings? Have you read any of Brandon's other books? Do you know about the Cosmere?

If you've only read WoK, then I'd suggest reading some of Brandon's other books before continuing on to Words of Radiance, because there are lots of Cosmere hints in it. If you didn't know, all of Brandon's fantasy books are all set in the same universe on different planets. I'd recommend reading Mistborn first because that one is really good. It's split into two sets of three books, the first trilogy being set during a more traditional fantasy era, while the second three (and there's a fourth coming out next year) are set in an industrial revolution era. That's all in the same world as well.

After Mistborn, I'd suggest reading Elantris and Warbreaker. Both have some minor hints in the Stormlight Archive, so it's always fun to see those when you read through the Stormlight books.