First ever chapter

Kered

So, yeah. Below is the first ever chapter I've written, just finished it up last night. Was hoping to get some feedback, of all kinds, from you guys. As it's my first time actually putting something together, please don't hold back haha. I want to try and soak up as much as I can.

It's 2600 words. 

Chapter 1

“A medic that kills”

Desen sprinted through the rubble that used to be the barrack tent. The sky was all smoke, and the stench of battle and blood hung in the air. Screams of pain and shouted commands were heard everywhere. The army had just crossed the river that hugged The Fist. They had not expected to run into the Westlav raiders until much farther down the river. The army were the ones that were planning the ambush, it wasn’t supposed to be the other way around.

A group of about ninety raiders had hit them just as the Derian army were setting camp for the night. Their confidence that they had the larger, better trained force had led them astray. The men had just finished setting up the tents, and were starting on the night’s supper. Old Hodge was giving on of his many long winded, and often false, stories of his time in the scouting unit that delved deep into Westlav story.  After being in the army for more than 8 months now with Old Hodge and then men of Medic Unit 2, Desen had heard most of Hodge’s stories by now. So instead reclined back on the rock grouping he was sitting on near the shore of the river, and gazed around at his surroundings.

Desen had come to find out that being in army is usually not how its depicted in the stories of old. More often than not, it just entailed a lot of marching and seeing to men with rot gut or men who had been a little too liberal with the drink the night before, and were trying to get out of patrol duty.