What has Brandon done to the Earth?

William Holz

Hi everyone!  Forgive me if this has been discussed already, I couldn't find it in the recent discussions and while there were a couple that mentioned Earth in context I didn't see any that focused on how Earth is the possible/likely origin of all we see in the Cosmere. (Disclaimer, it's early and my Google-fu tends to improve as the day wears on)

Now, I'm pretty new to Sanderson's work but I LOVE the way he approaches things and while I'm quite definitely not a writer of his caliber, I sense a bit of a kindred spirit when it comes to world design.

And that has me wondering something...

Brandon has a habit that I particularly enjoy...create a world with a well thought out integrated rule system, fast forward a little bit, and then break the poor little dear and play in the wreckage. 

I was just reading the Arcanum Unbounded and one of his side notes on the origins of Hoid got me thinking a bit more seriously about how the Earth may be the seed of the Cosmere.  

I know it's been said that The Reckoners doesn't take place in the Cosmere, but I wonder if that's perhaps a bit of a red herring.  I could easily see a thought process that results in the destruction of the Earth in the Reckoners also creating the seeds for what eventually becomes the Cosmere.  Earth post-Calamity is in an interesting place and it appears there's room there for both a level of ascension and devastation that would either lead to travel into the eventual Cosmere or else (less likely?) cause the sort of change that causes our cluster to resemble what we see in the Cosmere.

Thinking back to the end of Calamity, Obliteration's continuing quest in particular seems to be the sort of thing that would potentially lead in exactly that direction.