Reading Excuses 091216 rdpulfer The Big L (Revised) L

rdpulfer

Hello all,

This is the revised version of "The Big L". I've rewritten it as present tense (by popular demand). Specifically I'd like to know any places you seen past/present tense confusion. This is my first time writing something present tense, much less rewriting something as present tense.

Of course, I'd welcome any other comments to strengthen this piece.

Thanks,

Richard

Overall

It was nice to read this again. I thought it flowed much more smoothly and had clearer hinting. Still a few bumps, noted below. I didn't notice tense changes but I often don't, so hopefully others will find any that exist. My only other comment is that this does not pass the Bechdel Test, and you have plenty of characters to work with, so you might consider swapping genders on a few orderlies and working in a quip unrelated to the MC. Other than that, nice work!

As I go (my numbering is based on reformatting, so the page numbers might not line up with yours)

- second sentence in is too adjective heavy

- page one, second paragraph: redundancy with 'calendar'

- page 2: 'runn' should be 'run

- page five: ah, the layout is coming through well this time around. Very nice!

- page ten: the hypnosis thing hits kind of sudden. It jars me from the narrative and seems out of place for what I know of Matthew's character

@ kaisa - Thanks a lot! I appreciate the typos - that's what I really need to clear up. I'm thinking about adding some more female characters, if I can make it fit into the overall narrative.

@ Ernnei - Thanks for your opinion all the same. Was there anything in the main character's personality or actions that made him hard to emphasize with?

13 hours ago, kaisa said:

There were some I didn't bother to point out. You want a Track Changes LBL?

If you wouldn't mind. I'm trying to get it all polished for submissions.

7 hours ago, Ernei said: