How to Pronounce Character Names

I've just finished reading Elantris and throughout the book I kept changing how I pronounced character names in my head. This is largely due to the fact that I tend pronounce all vowel sounds as I would pronounce vowel sounds in Japanese (the language I am currently studying). I realised that my initial pronunciation was likely incorrect so I started playing around with other possible pronunciations that fit comfortably in my mouth, so to speak. After watching a Sanderson q&a in which he pronounces the name of Raoden in a way I hadn't even considered I suddenly became very curious about character name pronunciations. In short: is there an existing guide?

Also, the way Sanderson pronounced Adolin is not at all how I pronounce it :rolleyes: but I've read SA books twice now and I think it will take me a third time to get used to how character names are actually pronounced.

P.S.

Do you pronounce is JAS-nah or YAS-nah? I think there was a passage in WoR where Shallan is speaking to Pattern and mentions the Alethi J is pronounced like a Y, but I'll be damned if I can break the habit of wanting to pronounce it JAS-nah.

How do you pronounce Adolin? I specifically went to re-listen to Brandon state it and it basically is how I have always stated it, in my mind. I realize it may be because I am saying Adolin's name as a French would read his English name which happens to be the right way...

As for Jasnah, I initially said JAS-nah, but when I heard it had to be YAS-nah, I have corrected myself. I am fine with it now. Shallan, I still tend to say her name in French...

I have gotten a mix of the books in paper format and audio (which can be really confusing as apparently I butcher names horribly ).

I also pronounced Adolin's name wrong until I listened to WoR (never could get the book in the library, too many holds!) Listening to Adolin's name being said a thousand times corrected me. I used to say Ah-doh-lyn.