Fantasy isn't published in my country

Zecria

So, this is something that has been bothering me for a while. I'm from Venezuela, so my native language is Spanish. I have a decent prose in that language, since I've been studying it for a few years now.

The thing is, I love fantasy books, so naturally it is the genre I enjoy writing the most. Venezuelan publishing companies don't quite agree with me there. There are really few of those in the first place, and just half a dozen publish actual novels, so don't let me get started with the chances one of these publishes fantasy fiction. I can testify I have never seen a venezuelan fantasy story in anything, ever.

I have a decent handling of English, but is it good enough to write fantasy in that language? I don't have that much confidence in that. And is it realistic to hope that a foreign publishing company takes interest in a foreigner? I've been thinking about self-publishing, since it has been a big thing lately, but I don't even know how to get started on that.

These concerns have been taking a toll on my writing too. I find myself stopping a story in the middle just thinking if my endeavor is worth it or not.

What can I do about this? Any advice?

I can't advise on publishing routes, but judging only from your posts here, I'd say you have the ability to write very well in English if that's the direction you want to go.

For Spanish language publishing, do you know of any current Venezuelan authors (in particular fiction, though not necessarily fantasy)? I would imagine that some of them at least would publish through through a company in another Spanish speaking country. That's just a guess, though--I have no experience with that.

I think your english is very good. I actually know a bit of Spanish so I might be able to help translate, but it isn't very good.

Another suggestion could be finding a publishing company in another Spanish speaking country. That might point you in a good direction too.